bbl news – sydney sixers vs brisbane heat schedule – Smith’s epic reply to World Cup snub as breakout Test hopeful stuns: BBL Team of the Tournament

Fresh off being awarded the BBL’s top gong, Adelaide Strikers star Matt Short has been selected to open the batting in the league’s team of the tournament.

bbl news

The team, which was released on Wednesday and voted by the eight BBL club coaches, features Short and Sydney Sixers big-hitter Steve Smith.

bbl score

Smith’s selection at the top of the order is further proof of just how destructive he was with the bat in hand for the Sixers, having only played four games during the voting period yet still managing to put up 328 runs and two centuries.

bbl team

It has been quite the statement for the 33-year-old, who was not selected in Australia’s first-choice XI for last year’s T20 World Cup.

bbl schedule

Elsewhere, Aaron Hardie has been rewarded for a strong season at the Perth Scorchers with his first selection in the team of the tournament.

The Test hopeful, who Kerry O’Keeffe floated as a left-field option for the recent series at the SCG, smacked 434 runs in a breakout season that also included four half-centuries.

Aaron Finch also features in the team after a host of vintage batting performances for the Renegades, scoring 418 runs, and has also been named captain.

At wicketkeeper is Josh Inglis, who lead the competition with 16 dismissals while Michael Neser (22 wickets) and Sean Abbott (24) have also earned selection in the side.

The Perth Scorchers all-time leading wicket-taker Andrew Tye, who brought up his 100th BBL match this season, has also been named in the team along with fast-improving talents in Paddy Dooley and Tom Rogers.

Rounding out the team is the league’s all-time leading run scorer Chris Lynn, who added 416 runs this season for the Adelaide Strikers.

“With more than 2600 runs and 120 wickets between them this season, it is a formidable team that would be competitive against any side in the world,” said Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia’s general manager, Big Bash Leagues.

“We have witnessed some world-class cricket and it is truly a joy to see the excitement and delight of the crowds watching these players deliver sensational moments.”

BBL|12 Team of the Tournament

1. Matthew Short, Adelaide Strikers (eight votes)

2. Steve Smith, Sydney Sixers (eight)

3. Aaron Hardie, Perth Scorchers (eight)

4. Aaron Finch (c), Melbourne Renegades (six)

5. Josh Inglis (wk), Perth Scorchers (seven)

6. Tim David, Hobart Hurricanes (five)

7. Michael Neser, Brisbane Heat (five)

8. Sean Abbott, Sydney Sixers (eight)

9. Andrew Tye, Perth Scorchers (five)

10. Tom Rogers, Melbourne Renegades (six)

Copyright © 2023 six6s. All rights reserved.